a fresh start, and all that jazz.

Standard

Hello, Montpelier.

So it’s been almost a week into my big move – 15ish hours on the road, two days smushed in my little 2-door Saturn coupe with my mom, and probably more Starbucks pit stops than necessary (or not nearly enough…). And I think I’ve had a pretty good start. The whole idea of ‘settling in’ doesn’t really appeal to me; after a few days, I’m more than ready to be fully adjusted to my new environment. Trouble is, it usually takes more than a few days to meet people, learn the new environment, and do all the boring adult-people stuff like open up bank accounts and get a Vermont state driver’s license. But I’ve gotten most of all that done, and already have a job at a local restaurant to boot. (boot? where’d that come from? I do need some sturdy boots.)

And while I still don’t know anyone less than two decades older than me, and I’ve been sleeping an incredibly abnormal amount (which most of the time causes me to wake up sore and with a headache), I’m not all that antsy. Yeah, sure, I have yet to be out of the house past 10pm. Of course watching When Harry Met Sally on VHS isn’t anywhere near my preffered way of spending a Saturday night. But I know that’s not going to last too terribly long. I like people, and people generally like me. And I fell in love with this town the first time I visited my great-aunt and uncle with my brother, a number of years ago during summer vacation. I always figured I’d be back, but I didn’t realize it’d be a permanent move.

Ah, this place. It’s pretty adorable, lemme tell ya. The capitol of the entire state is approximately 8,000 people big, and two streets long. State St. and Main St. are really the only two roads that occupy most businesses. The only chain ‘restaurants’ are Subway and a Dunkin’ Donuts right outside of the downtown area. Oh, and an Applebee’s somewhere that I keep hearing about, even applied to, but have yet to see. I kind of think it’s invisible. There are a number of gas stations, as well as local shops and restaurants that don’t like to sit still. There are always places opening, closing, moving across the street, etc., and apparently there’s one man who no one in their right mind will ever rent from. Jeff Jeffer, or something like that. Even if that’s not his name, it probably should be. Who in their right mind would rent from a guy with a name like that? Clearly, he’s entirely untrustworthy. Everything’s pretty expensive, too. Even though I love all the vegan/vegetarian friendly, organic and local fare, my wallet is already starting to complain. There’s no Waffle House for late-night munchies, no Taco Bell for 99cent burritos (though i never went there…i just like the idea of having super cheap food available), no Cosmic Cantina for their quesadillas or Chubby’s Tacos for their burritos the size of a small child. But there are a number of sandwich shops and delis, coffee/bakery shops, and local restaurants where I’m sure i’ll become a regular and be able to grab something for 5 bucks or less when I need. I’m pretty thrifty like that. And since I already have a job (starting tomorrow morning!) i won’t have to worry about depleting my lil stash of cash. I don’t have to pay rent or buy groceries, for crying out loud. And though there’s no internet where I’m living, my new home at Aunt Nancy and Uncle Bill’s halfway up a mountain just outside of Montpelier, it gives me the opportunity to get out of the house, grab myself a hot latte, and maybe meet a couple people. Gotta say, I’m looking forward to seeing how things develop up here. Looking forward to it quite a bit.

About claireaudient

North Carolina girl, born and raised, though now I consider Vermont to be home as well. I guess you could say I'm a migrant gypsy farmer, if you were prone to saying such things. I've played the whole society game; I've been to three different colleges, have an Associate's Degree (in Liberal Studies, or something like that), and have worked more restaurant jobs than I care to admit. Through a curious series of events, however, I've formed a different perspective on what life means to me. Instead of slaving away at a job I hate to eke out a mediocre life staring at a shiny screen, I'm living out my dream to travel while learning organic farming and sustainability practices. It's not always easy, but leaving the comforts of routine to experience the wonders of the universe was a choice I will never regret. <3

3 responses »

  1. Reading this makes me smile & wish I could be 20 something & do such things again…watch out, I may just move to Boone ;-)

  2. hahahaha nicely done, Claire, nicely done ;) uggggg i really don’t like taco bell!!! idk whyyy but it just bothers me :P haha anywho 2 the point. Wish i could c the wonderful sight of Mount Pelier, the amazing flowers and plants and go up a SKI LIFT, (i’ve always wanted to do that :) w/ U!!!!!!! hope 2 c u sooooooooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnn :D miss u alreadyyy!!! ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

