houseless and happy

Standard

well, for those who don’t know, I’m not exactly in Vermont anymore; to use a well-deserved cliche, the time has come for me to ramble onward.

My travel-and-otherwise partner Raven and I have set on a journey with no limits of time or place. Though we have a general path we’ve been following, this is the first time I’ve set out with no end in sight. So far the adventure has led us down the east coast to North Carolina, where we have been for a little over a week now. We’re currently at my grandmother’s house on Lake Norman with family members I haven’t seen in way too many years. It’s a little strange to be here without my immediate family, but it’s definitely great to catch up with long-lost relatives (at least, that’s what it feels like!) in a home filled with memories of family reunions. Raven being here with me adds another dimension of strangeness to it all – I feel like I’m bringing a piece of my present into my childhood. I’ve experienced quite a few paradigm shifts since I was last in my home state, and am definitely seeing old sights with new eyes. Showing everything to Raven, however, keeps me grounded in my present self so that I don’t get caught up in the past. It’s all quite curious!

Yesterday we got our tattoos “documented” in Carrboro by a group from a folklore class (I’m guessing students from UNC-CH); they took pictures and then asked us questions about our ink. A wonderfully vibrant lady named Danielle took other “super free!” high-quality photos (woohoo!) that she’ll e-mail to us at some point. She inquired about our stories, and was enthusiastic about our “alternative lifestyle” (that phrase cracks me up) as traveling WWOOFers. As we joked about being homeless, she smilingly corrected our terminology – “you’re houseless, not homeless!” I really like that, because it’s so true. My backpack is my house, and the present is my home. The whole world is my playground, and dammit I can’t wait to explore more of it!

We’re aboutta take an extended family trip to BJ’s and explore all the wonders of bulk goods and consumerism, so I suppose my time is up for right now. Ciao!

About claireaudient

North Carolina girl, born and raised, though now I consider Vermont to be home as well. I guess you could say I'm a migrant gypsy farmer, if you were prone to saying such things. I've played the whole society game; I've been to three different colleges, have an Associate's Degree (in Liberal Studies, or something like that), and have worked more restaurant jobs than I care to admit. Through a curious series of events, however, I've formed a different perspective on what life means to me. Instead of slaving away at a job I hate to eke out a mediocre life staring at a shiny screen, I'm living out my dream to travel while learning organic farming and sustainability practices. It's not always easy, but leaving the comforts of routine to experience the wonders of the universe was a choice I will never regret. <3

Leave a Reply

