“Shut Up And….”

Standard

So, Raven and I have been here in Tennessee for about a week and a half now. And just like always, it’s been one hell of an experience. I love that my life always surprises me, though it’s probably really because I never know what to expect….especially now that I’m on the road and whatnot.

The land here at Shut Up and Grow It is absolutely beautiful, and even as it gets colder I’m learning tons about farming and communal living. We’ve got lots of herbs in the garden (catnip and lemon balm tea, anyone?!) and are still harvesting a good amount of leafy greens and fall veggies. There are multiple projects going on, and always plenty to do – which is great for someone (like me!) who enjoys working on various things throughout the day. I’ve helped expand the gardens to about three times the original size, which included hand-weeding the brush, clearing the ground, sowing rye as a cover crop for the winter, and spreading piles of cow manure to keep the soil extra healthy. One family on site is working on clearing a permanent housing site, which has proved to be no small chore. They’re clearing and leveling the ground by hand, digging out a hill that was formed out of hard clay and plenty of rocks. Talk about manual labor! 

What really makes this land wonderful, however, are the people that work and live on it. Raven and I both felt a warm, welcoming energy the minute we stepped onto the property…I have since been constantly delighted by the warmth and wisdom extended to me during my stay here. I’ve found that most of the people here for the long run are very in tune to others’ energies and intentions, and want more than anything to created a like-minded, self-sustaining community. And, from what I’ve seen, I’d say that his place definitely has the capacity to do so (I’m sure they’d appreciate my expert opinion :P). I’m not sure how much longer we’ll be staying – it IS getting steadily colder, and I want to head south before traveling just sucks – but I’m already looking forward to the multiple lessons I know I’m going to pick up before we leave. That being said, time to fly! ;)

 

About claireaudient

North Carolina girl, born and raised, though now I consider Vermont to be home as well. I guess you could say I'm a migrant gypsy farmer, if you were prone to saying such things. I've played the whole society game; I've been to three different colleges, have an Associate's Degree (in Liberal Studies, or something like that), and have worked more restaurant jobs than I care to admit. Through a curious series of events, however, I've formed a different perspective on what life means to me. Instead of slaving away at a job I hate to eke out a mediocre life staring at a shiny screen, I'm living out my dream to travel while learning organic farming and sustainability practices. It's not always easy, but leaving the comforts of routine to experience the wonders of the universe was a choice I will never regret. <3

One response »

Leave a Reply

